The Sons Of Adam | Saturday’s Sons


The First-Ever Comprehensive Anthology Of The Legendary 1960s L.A. Garage Gods

SKU: N/A Category:


The Complete Recordings: 1964-1966

“Randy Holden is a good candidate for selection as the great unknown 1960s rock guitar hero.” —Richie Unterberger

Led by visionary guitarist Randy Holden (Blue Cheer, The Other Half) and featuring charismatic frontman Jac Ttanna (Genesis), bassist Mike Port, and drummer Michael Stuart-Ware (Love), The Sons of Adam were a lean, mean rock ‘n’ roll machine, lighting up the Sunset Strip alongside such groundbreaking icons as The Byrds, Buffalo Springfield, The Doors, and The Mothers of Invention. Schooled in surf and emboldened by the British Invasion, the band earned a reputation as a fearsome live act, known for blowing fellow artists off the stage with their high energy performance and voluble power. The quartet enjoyed a brief but incandescent three-year career, fueled by a fervent fan following who flocked to such world-famous Hollywood haunts as the Whisky A Go Go, Bido Lito’s, and Gazarri’s to thrill to their explosive sounds and passionate intensity.

Saturday’s Sons: The Complete Recordings 1964-1966 gathers The Sons of Adam’s complete studio output – spanning rare 45s, outtakes, and demo recordings – including fiery material from their early incarnation as The Fender IV as well as their fabled 1966 single, “Feathered Fish,” donated to the band by Love’s Arthur Lee. Most significantly, Saturday’s Sons features a previously unreleased 1966 full concert performance from San Francisco’s famed Avalon Ballroom – a vintage recording so exciting and powerfully dynamic that few will be in doubt of The Sons of Adam’s lost potential. In addition, Saturday’s Sons: The Complete Recordings 1964-1966includes a definitive 15,000-word chronicle of the group’s unfulfilled reach for the brass ring by Grammy®-nominated compilation producer Alec Palao, featuring the full cooperation of the band members and associates, and showcasing a stunning range of rare photos, poster art, and other previously unseen images

“We were so young and fucking immortal. Live, we were pretty damned incredible. I looked forward to getting onstage every night. It was my total life.”—Randy Holden 

The Sons of Adam
Saturday’s Sons – The Complete Recordings: 1964-1966

  1. Everybody Needs Somebody To Love (Live At The Avalon Ballroom)
  2. Mr. Sun (Live At The Avalon Ballroom)
  3. The Long Road (Live At The Avalon Ballroom)
  4. Evil Hearted You (Live At The Avalon Ballroom)
  5. It Won’t Be Long (Live At The Avalon Ballroom)
  6. Saturday’s Son (Live At The Avalon Ballroom)
  7. Go Away (Live At The Avalon Ballroom)
  8. Gloria (Live At The Avalon Ballroom)
  9. Take My Hand
  10. Tomorrow’s Gonna Be Another Day
  11. I Told You Once Before
  12. You Make Me Feel Good
  13. Without Love
  14. You’re A Better Man Than I
  15. Saturday’s Son
  16. Feathered Fish
  17. Baby Show The World
  18. Mar Gaya (The Fender IV)
  19. You Better Tell Me Now (The Fender IV)
  20. Malibu Run (The Fender IV)
  21. Everybody Up (The Fender IV)
  22. Lonely Surf Guitar (The Fender IV)
  23. Highway Surfer (The Fender IV)
  24. Little Oly (The Fender IV)

Order the Digital Release here!

Additional information

Weight N/A

CD, 2 LP

2024 © High Moon Records